The Body Shop: Body Butters

My tattered and much- loved butter
My tattered and much- loved butter
Golden goodness
Golden goodness
A close up
A close up
Behind the scenes
Behind the scenes
Shimmer!
Shimmer!

I’ve been a loyal customer to The Body Shop for a long time. Every time we go to our local shopping centre I make sure I grab one of these. I picked this one up about two years ago for a fiver, as I got a discount for buying a huge hamper full of stuff (which unfortunately I gave away for free because of a rumour that The Body Shop were doing animal testing *face palm*). I absolutely love it, and I’ll discuss this with you in the next few paragraphs if you’re considering buying one of these beauties!

I think everyone knows The Body Shop do good stuff. Their products smell great, look great and overall just are  great. And this is no different, I’ve owned plenty of body butters in my time from TBS: strawberry, coconut (yum!) and now this one, what I think is the original version of the legendary ‘Chocomania’. I’ve also discovered so many more like ‘Vitamin Body Butter’, ‘Olive Body Butter’ and ‘Sweet Lemon Body Butter’. Who ever knew there could be so many…body butters?

All of the range have incredible smells. I don’t know if it’s just my extra sensitive sense of smell or something, but I can’t seem to stop pressing my face against the packaging. This one in particular generates a mouth watering scent of cocoa butter, which I suppose is very chocolatey (as, you know, cocoa butter is made of cocoa beans and cocoa beans make chocolate!?).

However, I am slightly confused that the colour of the product is golden, despite many labels naming it as chocolate– and chocolate is definitely not golden unless my eyesight has deceived me for years. I found it very difficult to name what the butter was because it has no clue on the outside whatsoever apart from the strange brown splodges spotted in the picture. So let’s say a member of the public (like you or me) walks up to TBS and wants to buy the famous Cocunut body butter: ‘oh look, here it is!’, they say, clutching the brown tin- shaped packaging. See what I mean? Then this poor customer is going to arrive home to be tremendously disappointed at the sight of a chocolate butter, not a coconut one. I do love The Body Shop, but I wish they’d make their product names a bit clearer (although I do have to give them some credit for writing its name on the back in small print.)

Something I can’t ignore is the wonderful feel the butters have on the skin. The second the moisturiser is applied, the wonderful Aloe Vera, Babassu Oil, Brazil Nut Oil, Cocoa Butter, and Shea Butter takes over to create a calming and indulgent experience. Having a night at homes? Slap on some body butter. Having a stressful day at work? Slap on some body butter. Going out? Slap on some body butter. I know that I will ‘slap on some body butter’ any chance I get.

Some advice I can give you is keep the lid on! There’s nothing worse than going to your saviour and realizing that last week (or whenever you last used it) you were in a hurry and dumped the lid on the floor as an attempt to get out the door. Sadly, I suffered that fate as I dipped my finger in the substance and realised it was next to rock hard. If you look closely at the pictures I have supplied, the texture is hard and flaky, not soft and inviting like it is supposed to be. But I can’t complain- it was me who destroyed the butter *over-dramatic pause*.

One positive thing I can still benefit from my butter, and I think everyone can, is the lovely shimmer effect. If you look at the picture of my sparkly arm it literally shimmers. I’m not sure if it’s just my butter that glimmers, but if yours does take advantage! It’s not everyday you walk out the door looking like a vampire.

So there you have it. It smells good, looks good, is good (even if the packaging was a little vague). I’d definitely recommend this product. Let me know in the comments if there are any other TBS bargains we can grab.

Kate X

The Body Shop: Body Butters

Leave a Reply

