The Body Shop: Fragrance Mists

Pretty glass bottles
Pretty glass bottles
Indian Night Jasmine
Indian Night Jasmine
English Dawn White Gardinia
English Dawn White Gardenia
The pretty design on the back of the bottle
The pretty design on the back of the bottle
Practical fragrance nozzle
Practical fragrance nozzle

As always, I scurried to The Body Shop to pick these up. I purchased the lovely Indian Night Jasmine and really enjoyed it, with its both delicate and elegant smell. I was going to describe it as musky, but the scent isn’t as strong and drowning as the word may suggest. It’s pretty and noticeable and I often get many complements when wearing it (if I don’t over- use, which I do have a tendency to do *looks sheepish*). I use it almost everyday, and while at a level it could be described as floral, I don’t find the scent particularly overpowering in that sense. It more reminds me of a misty night out on the road in India, with busy crowds and fortune tellers, story tellers and the lot… A lovely scent, a definite recommendation- if only I could upload scent samples to you right now so you don’t have to listen to me warble on! 😉

As for the fragrance mist English Dawn White Gardenia (bit of a mouthful *gulp*) I’m not so impressed. Obviously this is my personal opinion and we all like different things, but for me the scent is just too floral. While I do like a hint of a flowery smell (like INJ) being drowned in rose water is not my idea of sleeping beauty. While as a flower, Roses are high on my favourites list, this perfume fails to convince me they should stay on my list (not that I have one printed out at home, or anything…). However, after my negative feeling toward the product my mum snooped around my cabinet and saw the unused bottle sitting there… As you may have guessed she has now adopted it and is sitting proudly in her cabinet, over half of it used. So this made me wonder if the fragrance was targeted at older audiences, rather than teenage buyers. Agree or not agree?

I love the packaging on the mists. It’s simple, practical and pretty, a definite thumbs up from a girl who is very clumsy and frequently drops things. As you can imagine, clutching a hexagonal glass prism with a triangular nozzle that is very pricey is not the best idea for me.

The nozzle on both fragrances are very easy to use and squirt a considerable amount of liquid, but rest assured you won’t end up like a drowned cat after a quick spray. Well, maybe don’t trust me. I do often find myself dripping wet, as I described above I have a ‘tendancy to overspray’ (I admit, that’s a bit of an understatement.).

Overall I’m happy with my purchases. A mist for me, a mist for Mum (oh wait, I just realised how cheesy that sounded *cringe*)! Everyone’s happy. Let me know if you’ve discovered any other fantastic mists from TBS. I’ll be sure to give them a try!

Kate X

PS. That greenish tinge in the EDWG photo is not what you think it is. I keep my products well away from tolitery activities, thank you very much!

 

The Body Shop: Fragrance Mists

Leave a Reply

